bandnine inch nails
packageBrown / Black Splatter LP in full color sleeve with printed inner sleeve.
track listing
A1.Gave Up (Open My Eyes)00:00
A2.Closer (Unrecalled)00:00
A3.The Downward Spiral (A Gilded Sickness)00:00
B1.Eraser (Reduction)00:00
B2.Eraser (Baby Alarm Remix)00:00
catalog numberCSR193LP
labelCold Spring Records 2014
countryUnited Kingdom United Kingdom
release dateMarch 17, 2014
added to catalogAug. 20, 2022

From Coldspring Website
Brown / Black Splatter LP in full colour sleeve with printed inner sleeve. Ltd x 500 copies

“Recoiled” is a rambunctious alchemy, of magikal Coil sensibilities and hi-tech home circa 90’s mixing technique, all fused in the cave-like early studios of Danny Hyde (Coil, Electric Sewer Age) / Peter Christopherson (Coil, Throbbing Gristle).

These were the unrestrained PRE- BIG studio- mix downs, of four songs which long time Coil admirer / collaborator Trent Reznor requested Coil to remix. Reznor sent over the original multi-tracks and DATs to Hyde / Christopherson, who independently mixed versions and then met to synch both creations, molding them into these master versions.

”Recoiled” includes a fuller, more opulent version of the track ‘Closer’, which eventually made it onto the opening credits to the movie “SE7EN“. These 5 lengthy compositions (just under 40 minutes) are pre-Ableton / laptop generation type priest song creations, with the use of baby alarms and numerous wires to create bespoke effects.

These legendary tracks were always rumoured to exist and, only the due diligence of a dedicated NIN forum who hunted them down, are released/unleashed for your listening pleasure. 4 of the tracks were released on the download-only “Uncoiled”. A bonus, previously unheard track from the same sessions closes the album. Jhonn Balance is also manifest on this gilded constellation. Beautifully remastered.

From ninwiki:
Recoiled is a semi-official remix EP credited to Coil and Nine Inch Nails. It is the commercial and physical release of selected tracks from the Uncoiled download-only remix compilation. It was released on February 24, 2014 on Cold Spring Records and was made available on CD, vinyl, limited edition vinyl and digital formats.

discogs ref5349461
rarity classA
Cold Spring Records